Profile picture of Alexandre Dossin

Alexandre Dossin

Professor of Piano
Area Chair—Keyboard
Phone: 541-346-3781
Office: 265 Frohnmayer Music Bldg
Research Interests: Piano, Music Performance

UO Studio  |  Oregon Chapter of the American Liszt Society

Considered by Martha Argerich an “extraordinary musician” and by the international critic a “phenomenon,” “a master of contrasts”  and “a stunning pianist with a symbiotic relationship with the instrument," Steinway Artist Alexandre Dossin keeps an active performing, recording, and teaching careers.

Alexandre Dossin is a graduate of the Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory (Russia) and holds a doctorate from the University of Texas at Austin (USA). He was assistant of Sergei Dorensky at the Tchaikovsky Conservatory and Willliam Race and Gregory Allen at UT-Austin. 

A prizewinner in several international piano competitions, Dossin received the First Prize and the Special Prize at the 2003 Martha Argerich International Piano Competition in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Other international awards include the Silver Medal and second Honorable Mention in the Maria Callas Grand Prix, and the Third Prize and Special Prize in the Mozart International Piano Competition, in addition to several prizes in Brazil.

 An active recording artist, his performances are featured in over 15 recordings released with several labels, including 7 CDs with Naxos and 6 editions/recordings for Schirmer. Dossin’s edition and recording of complete piano sonatas by W. A. Mozart (2-volume edition and recordings, Schirmer Performance Editions) will be released in December of 2023. Upcoming releases in 2024 include the complete piano works by George Walker in 2 CDs with Naxos. This will be included in the label’s prestigious American Classics Series and will present the world premiere of Bauble in addition to the first recording of the piano concerto in more than ten years. This release will be followed by a performance edition of the same works published by Keiser Southern Music. Soloist appearances in 2023-2024 include the Eugene Symphony, the Austin Symphony, and the West Coast premiere of George Walker’s piano concerto with the University of Oregon Philharmonia. 

Dossin’s work was praised in reviews by Diapason, The Financial Times, Fanfare Magazine, American Record Guide, Clavier, and other international publications. 

Conductors with whom Dossin has performed include Charles Dutoit, Isaac Karabtchevsky, and Michael Gielen, with orchestras such as the Buenos Aires Philharmonic, Brazilian National Symphony, Mozarteum University Symphony, and Tchaikovsky Conservatory Symphony. Dossin performed numerous live recitals for public radio in Wisconsin and Illinois, including repeated appearances at the Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concert Series in Chicago. Dossin has performed in international festivals in Japan, Canada, the United States, and Argentina, on some occasions sharing the stage with Martha Argerich.

Dossin is the Vice-President of the American Liszt Society and president of its Oregon Chapter and is one of the recipients of the prestigious Faculty Fund for Excellence at the University of Oregon.  Currently the chair of the keyboard area at the University of Oregon School of Music and Dance, he keeps a studio of advanced pianists from several countries and is listed in Who's Who in America and Who's Who Among America's Teachers.

  • DMA 2001, University of Texas at Austin
  • MFA 1996, Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory (Russia)


  • 2015-2016 University of Oregon Faculty Fund for Excellence Award
  • First Prize, 2003 Martha Argerich International Piano Competition; Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Special Prize, 2003 Martha Argerich International Piano Competition; Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Silver Medal, 1996 Maria Callas Grand Prix; Athens, Greece
  • Second Honorable Mention, 1996 Maria Callas Grand Prix; Athens, Greece
  • Third Prize, 1995 Mozart International Piano Competition; Salzburg, Austria
  • Special Prize, 1995 Mozart International Piano Competition; Salzburg, Austria
  • "Ambassador of Rio Grande do Sul" state award, 1997; Brazil
  • Graduate Pre-Emptive Fellowship, 1998; University of Texas at Austin